Heals PLZ

Everybody loves to gain life, right? If the current Standard season has taught me anything, it is that the only thing I hate more then a six mana 2/2 is a resolved Thragtusk. The 5/3 I can manage. The token after he dies is annoying, but I can deal with that. But the five life…That’s where I draw the line. Sadly, everything about Thraggy’s design leads to longer games. Gain some life and stall the board. So I set out to learn how to harness this awesome (or annoying) power in the best possible manner. I want to take advantage of all the life gain in standard, so I came up with this:

4 Centaur Healer
2 Drogskol Reaver
4 Rhox Faithmender
4 Thragtusk
3 Trostani, Selesnya’s Voice

4 Chalice of Life
3 Detention Sphere
2 Elixir of Immortality
4 Farseek
2 Oblivion Ring
4 Sphinx’s Revelation

4 Forest
1 Glacial Fortress
4 Hallowed Fountain
4 Hinterland Harbor
1 Island
2 Plains
4 Sunpetal Grove
4 Temple Garden

Yes, I want to play long games. Yes, I’m somewhat of a masochist. No, I don’t think this deck is the next big thing in Standard. (Though I am playing both Thraggy and Sphinx’s Revelation, so it’s up for debate.) Basically, I just want to gain life, and kill with with my life…err Chalice of Death. This deck is straight forward, and fun. It’s definitely FNM worthy, so if you feel like gaining ALL THE LIFE then sleeve it up and enjoy.
-Ronnie

Leave a Reply

